The Drummin Bog Project is directed by local South Carlow volunteers who have come together to share valuable life experience and disciplinary expertise to highlight and celebrate one of Carlow’s unique natural heritage areas.

We are currently keen to welcome new committee members. We are particularly seeking those with fundraising or treasurer experience. Please contact our Chair :

Elected Officer and committee members for 2022:

Alan Price – Chair
Martin Lyttle – Vice-chair
Jules Michael – Secretary
Ally Couchman – Treasurer
Jules Michael – Creative engagement coordinator
Cathy Fitzgerald – PRO, ecological, community art advisor
Alexis Bernstorff – land owner, artist, art organiser
Matt English Hayden Agricultural Consultant working with farmers in the South East
John Tully – Director
Brigid O’Regan – Director

Committee for the Drummin Bog Project 2017-21

Alan Price – Healthcare Manager with the HSE, Environmentalist, previous member of Carlow County Council, a member of Carlow County Council Planning SPC, vice-chair of An Taisce, board member of CCDP, board member of Ring a Link, rural transport company.

Alexis Bernstorff – land owner, artist, art organiser

Ally Couchman  – Accounting Technician for local horse training yard.

Sophia Couchman  – Environmental Science student.

Lisa Dowling  – Consulting Ecologist with over 12 years experience in habitat surveys, botanical surveys, ecological impact assessment and appropriate assessment. Vice-county recorder for Carlow for Botanical Society of Britain and Ireland and full member of the Chartered Institute of Ecology and Environmental Management.

Dr. Cathy Fitzgerald –  Haumea Ecoversity educator, ecosocial artist and researcher,  ESD – Earth Charter accredited educator, 9 Stones Artist, committee member of Pro Silva Ireland (promoting Close-to-Nature continuous cover forestry),

Matt English Hayden, Agricultural Consultant working with farmers in the South East

Martin Lyttle – stone sculptor, member of 9 Stones Artists, former Engineering Geologist with 25 years’ experience of ground investigation design, peat stability.

Jules Michael – community artist, painter, member of 9 Stone Artists, current chair of Blackstairs Film Society, member of Carlow County LCDC.

Dr. Brigid O’Regan  – retired college lecturer. Over thirty years lecturing in Chemistry and Environmental Science and experience working with the EPA and Local Authorities.

John Tully – Barrister, Lecturer in Law, Carlow Institute of Technology (CIT)

(2017, advisor) Lorcán Scott– District Conservation Officer (Peatlands), National Parks and Wildlife experience on a range of Habitats & associated species since 1992. Currently assigned to work on Peatlands in Eastern & Southern Raised & Blanket Bogs Service (NPWS)